Canyon awaited promotion and development before its full tourism potential
could be realized. National Forest Supervisor J. W. Humphrey was transferred
from the La
Sal National Forest to the Powell National Forest on 1 July 1915.
He was amazed at the beauty and grandeur of Bryce and resolved to do
all he could to promote it and make it accessible. He took visiting
dignitaries to Bryce and secured funds for a passable road to the canyon
rim. In 1916 Arthur W. Stevens of the Forest Service wrote an illustrated
article for the Union Pacific railroad tourist magazine. J. W. Humphrey
wrote a similar article for the Rio Grande railroad. These were the
first descriptive articles published about Bryce Canyon. In the meantime,
moving pictures and postcards began circulating and Bryce began to attract
visitors from all parts of the nation.
1919 the Utah state legislature asked Congress to create Bryce National
Monument, which was done in 1923. The Union Pacific railroad acquired
a state school section on the rim and began developing campgrounds,
cabins, a lodge, and improved access to the Canyon. In 1928 Bryce Canyon
was removed from Forest Service jurisdiction and made Bryce Canyon National
Park. Later 12,000 additional acres were added to create what is now
a 37,277-acre park that attracts hundreds of thousands of visitors each
year from throughout the world to marvel at its unique beauty.