attempts were made by various groups and individuals to erect a more
suitable monument at Mountain Meadows but no one assumed maintenance
responsibility. The most enduring was a wall which still stands at the
siege site. It was erected in 1932 and surrounds the 1859 cairn. On
23 July 1988 a bipartisan meeting was held at the siege site to discuss
the possibility of erecting a more adequate memorial to those who lost
their lives. Two independent and parallel efforts resulted--one by people
in southern Utah and one by Francher party and John D. Lee descendants.
Eventually these two groups merged and cooperatively completed a new
granite memorial. It was financed by the state of Utah and by contributions
from private sources. It is situated near the highway (U-19) and overlooks
the siege and massacre sites; and it was dedicated 15 September 1990.
The Utah State Division of Parks and Recreation is now responsible for
Nels Anderson, Desert Saints (1966); Juanita Brooks, Mountain Meadow
Massacre (1950); Norman F. Furniss, The Mormon Conflict, 1850-59 (1960);
John D. Lee, Mormonism Unveiled and Confessions of John D. Lee (1892).