History of South Ogden, Utah
Taken from the Utah History Encyclopedia. (Links Added)
-3-

Throughout the past forty years, residential growth has continued in the "City of Homes." Businesses, schools, churches, fire and police departments, sewer and water lines continued to grow or to be expanded to serve the growing population. A new city hall was dedicated on 8 December 1983. Today, South Ogden boasts a comfortable balance of residential areas and business districts.

Several small shopping centers, stores, movie theaters, medical offices, and dental offices are scattered throughout the city. The Frank M. Browning Center for the Boy Scouts of America, the Kiwanis Club, Utah Highway Patrol, and a division of the Utah Driver's License Bureau are located in South Ogden.

Mormon pioneers settled the area, and the LDS Church is still well represented, with several chapels located in the city. The Greek Orthodox Church of the Transfiguration was consecrated on 18 December 1969; the Holy Family Catholic Church was dedicated on 26 May 1981; and a few smaller denominations are also housed in the city.

See: Ida D. Draayer, South Ogden City, Utah History 1848-1984 (1985); and Richard C. Roberts and Richard W. Sadler, Ogden Junction City U.S.A. (1985).

Lynne Singleton


Page 3
Google
 
Web onlineutah.com
Comments & Questions to OnlineUtah.com

Home | Area Codes | Cities | Climate | Credits | Counties | Dinosaurs | Disclaimer | Dining |

Education | Entertainment | Government | Health | History | Hot Springs | Industry | Lakes | Lodging |

Maps | Media | Mountains | Museums | Parks | People | Photo Gallery | Quick Facts |

Quizzes | Recreation & Sports | Religion | Rivers | Sites | Travel | Weather |




Mark Robinson Realty Brokers